An Explanation of Pro/Am Competitions

Renee Coates for Dance Vision
Dec 07, 2001
Pro/Am Solo Routines: These are individual performances by a student with his or her teacher, choreographed to a specific piece of music. The routines are not judged against each other, but are evaluated by a panel of judges and are given a mark and a written critique.

Pro/Am Freestyle Competitions: These events are comprised of students dancing with their teachers in competition against other students. The events are separated according to the student?s gender, age, style of dance, level of experience type of dance. This system is very equitable in that it provides many opportunities for students to compete fairly with other students of the same age and ability. In this event only the students (and not the teachers), are being judged.

Pro/Am Scholarship Competition: In this competition, each Pro/Am couple must dance all five dances of that particular category (e.g. Int?l Standard ? W, T, SF, VW, QS and Int?l Latin ? S, CC, R, PD, J) in a row. The ranking of the couples is determined by a tabulation of the marks from all the judges in al five dances. This is commonly considered the highest level of Pro/Am competition.

Age Categories: JA = 4-5, JB = 6-8, JC = 9-11, JD = 12-14, JE = 15-17, A1 = 18-35, A2 = 36-50, B1 = 51-60, B2 = 61-70, C1 = 71-80, C2 = 81 and over. These age categories may differ from competition to competition.

Closed One Dance Division

Couples are restricted to dancing the syllabus figures of each particular level. The syllabus figures are based on NDCA approved manuals from each member organization. For example, DVIDA is an approved member of the NDCA, therefore, you may use these figures in competition. Keep in mind however, that each member organization has there own syllabus and sometimes this may present a problem due to competitors dancing different figures in the same level.

Open One Dance Division
Couples are free to incorporate figures from one level above the level entered (e.g. Open Bronze may have Silver figures).

There are levels ranging from Newcomer to the most advance. They are usually in this order.
Newcomer aka Novice
Beginning or Pre-Bronze, Silver, Gold
Intermediate Bronze, Silver, Gold
Full Bronze, Silver, Gold

Who is the NDCA?

The National Dance Council of America (NDCA) is the official governing body for dancing in the United States. Its purpose is to provide, on a nation-wide basis, a united inter-association agency to represent the interests of those in the dance profession and other dance-related entities and organizations and to act as the agency for cooperation with similar councils in other countries. To also conduct a continuing campaign for the establishment and the maintenance of high standards in dance education, and to acquaint the public with the nature and benefits of these standards and to recognize the status of qualified dance teachers affiliated to member organizations of this Council.